Day out – Yorkshire Dales

One of the best things about where we live is how easily we can escape into the peace and quiet of the countryside. Five minutes drive from where we are, we could be gazing at sheep grazing away, and green fields which seem to go on and on.

And when we have more than 5 minutes, or half a day, for instance, we can drive off to Yorkshire Dales. Couple of weeks back, we had the most gorgeous weather. Bright sunny days, of the sort that we rarely see here. So in the middle of everything else that we had to do, we decided that all that could wait. Sunny weather needed to be celebrated. Β To be honest, I am the lazier one when it comes to dropping everything off and going off for a day out, husband, on the other hand, is super enthusiastic when it comes to stepping out.

Some three years back, we had taken a scenic route to go to the Lake District, and had loved some of the little villages we passed. Husband remembered some names and popped it into the navigation system(oh yes, we are totally dependent on the GPS) and off we went.

Enroute, we came across some fields with a river running through it.

How Green is my Valley?

Isn’t there something old-worldy about this scene? Perhaps something out of an Enid Blyton? A place to park caravans and camp for the night. The river water looked good enough to drink!

There goes the river, meandering through fields and valleys, perhaps with gaping tourists like us, who can’t have enough of it.

Somebody doesn’t look very happy at the sight of us trespassing on her fields!

And we ended the day, with dinner at a cute pub overlooking another stream. Can’t ask for more than that on an impromptu day out, can we?

14 Comments

Filed under Day Out

14 responses to “Day out – Yorkshire Dales

  1. This is what I miss most about being in Boston. Just a 5 minute drive away from home takes you into a whole new beautiful world. No wonder East Coast is called New England because I can see loads of similarities in your photos and the places around there.

    By god who is the person who gave bath to that cow?? I need to hire him/her to bathe my kids….the cow is all so shiny and squeaky clean :mrgreen:

    Your travelogues always tempts me to dig up my photos and post….but alas in the end my laziness takes over me completely 😦

    • From your pics, I think New England is even prettier: )

      That cow does look squeaky clean, doesnt it. Infact all cows look clean here, wonder what they do.

      You should do traveloguea, Saksh. Your pics are juat amazing! And you travel far more than I do.

  2. wow.. just looking at pictures only it is so relaxing.. looking at the cow i got reminded of Hutsun milk advertisement , it would have like being on dream land na..

  3. Lovely, lovely, lovely. Each of your UK posts make me fall more in love with the place than before. πŸ™‚

    I am so J that you have the English countryside (straight out of an English author’s book) at a drive of just 5 minutes from your house?

    • I’ve just been lucky. It wasn’t so easy when we were living in London:)

      And in months time, I’m going to have a different sort of neighborhood:)

  4. Nothing like the English country-side to rejuvenate you πŸ™‚
    We were supposed to visit Kent during the time my family came to attend my graduation ceremony in London, but it never happened due to lack of time. I’ve heard its very beautiful…

    • Kent is lovely, Ash! We used to go there when we were in London. But it wasn’t as easy to get there as it is here – just minutes away. You should plan to make a trip again and refresh your memories πŸ™‚

  5. Lovely set of photgraphs and I am sure you will miss all this very sorely once you are in India.

    I’m sure there will be different types of fun experiences there πŸ™‚

  6. Beautiful photographs and it took me some time to realise that the name is ‘Any excuse to travel’ not ‘Any excuse to write’ πŸ™‚

  7. does this mean that your old blog will have all posts here ? I m still confused..

    lovely green photos I must say… thats why I have always had a penchant for the english country side !

  8. Pingback: Day out

Leave a Reply

